Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Preview

Hello! It's me again.

I was feeling a bit “punk” this morning and feeling grungy, too.

This has to be one of the funniest AI summaries of my words that I’ve seen recently. Among other things, it appears that I’m now two people. Does that mean I make twice as much as I thought I was making? If so, I still don’t make a sustainable living. Ain’t that a birch! :) Oh, sorry. Here’s the summary:

Speaker 1 discusses their struggles with self-publishing and marketing their books, noting that despite having numerous works available, their sales on Amazon are extremely low. They attended a helpful presentation on self-publishing and are trying to improve their situation. They also mention the unpredictability of a writer's life, including dealing with dystonia, a movement disorder. Speaker 2 emphasizes the importance of hard work over presentation as an author, dismissing the idea of rituals or special tools for writing. They reference a quote from Jack London about not waiting for inspiration but actively seeking it.

So, AI invites the user to a ask a follow up question. So I did. I asked, “Whar made you think I was two people?” I was genuinely curious.

Here’s the response:

I apologize for any confusion. It seems that there was a misunderstanding. I did not assume that you were two people. The conversation between Speaker 1 and Speaker 2 was provided as context for the question you asked. Is there anything specific you would like to know or discuss?

No further questions. I rest my case.

*****

Hi. Yeah, it's Sunday. The pollen here is terrible. So if I start coughing or clearing my throat constantly, please excuse me.

Yesterday I had the pleasure of attending virtually by Zoom, one of the best presentations I have seen yet on self-publishing. It was one of, seriously, I'll just say it was the best thing I have seen and everything discussed were things I knew about, but learning about them or hearing somebody else talk about them rather, it was a very instructive thing for me and thinking about how to deal with my own situation, which is that my sales, my book sales just stink and I've done a very poor job as a marketer recently. But having said that, I just wanted to note that for some reason I'm still getting paid by Amazon. I'm trying to remember when I took my books off of KDP and I have virtually no recollection.

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to Honest Indie Author to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

Honest Indie Author
The Weekly Update
Random news links, other links, thoughts, and quotations. And the hottest news about armadillos. Possibly! :)